Courtesy: Governance Now
Courtesy: Governance Now

Here are the different stages involved in the assessment of technology gap to the final acquisition of weapon platforms for Indian armed forces:

Stages of Defence procurement in India:

  1. Preparation of Long Term Integrated Perspective Plan (LTIPP): 15-year roadmap
  2. Preparation of Services Capital Acquisition Plan (SCAP) by HQ-IDS: 5-year roadmap
  3. Annual Acquisition Plan (AAP) (approved by Defence Procurement Board (DPB)) : 1-year roadmap
  4. Request for Information (RFI) from prospective vendors
  5. Preparing service specific Staff Qualitative Requirements (SQRs) a.k.a (General staff, Air Staff, Naval Staff)
  6. Request/Grant of Acceptance of Necessity (AON) by Defence Acquisition Council (DAC)
  7. Expression Of Interest (EOI) issued by the respective Services.
  8. Request for Proposal (RFP) (Solicitation of Offers)
  9. Evaluation by Technical Evaluation Committee (TEC)
  10. Field trials (across different terrains and weather conditions)
  11. Evaluation by General Staff (Army/Airforce/Navy)
  12. Oversight by Technical Oversight Committee (TOC)
  13. Final go-ahead from Contract Negotiation Committee (CNC)/Price Negotiation Committee (PNC) after approval from Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS)
  14. Approval of the Competent Financial Authority (CFA) (Mostly from Finance Ministry)
  15. Signing of the Contract
  16. Contract Management and Final Delivery of the weapon platform

Source: Defence Procurement Procedure 2016

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.